Reshuffle: Full List of Uhuru Kenyatta’s New 2020 Cabinet


  • President Uhuru Kenyatta reshuffled his cabinet, on Tuesday, January 14, 2020, in a move that saw some youthful faces ascend to senior positions in his administration. 


    One of the two new faces heading ministries is former ICT minister Mutahi Kagwe who replaced Sicily Kariuki at the Health Ministry.

    The second is Trade CS nominee Betty Maina, who served as Environment Principal Secretary (PS).

    Other notable changes during the reshuffle were the firing of Agriculture CS Mwangi Kiunjuri who was replaced with Peter Munya who was heading the Trade ministry.

    Former Nyeri Senator Mutahi Kagwe. He was on Tuesday, January 14, 2020, nominated as the Health CS.
    Former Nyeri Senator Mutahi Kagwe. He was on Tuesday, January 14, 2020, nominated as the Health CS.

    Defence CS Raychelle Omamo was handed the Foreign Affairs docket while Sicily Kariuki was transferred to the Water Ministry. Simon Chelugui was moved to the Ministry of Labor.

    Below is a list of all CSs, PSs and CASs in the country as of January 2020.

          Name                                                    Ministry
        Cabinet Secretaries
    1   Dr. Fred O. Matiang’i, EGH                   Interior and Coordination of National Government
    2   Hon. Najib Balala, EGH                        Tourism & Wildlife
    3   Mr. James W. Macharia, EGH              Transport, Infrastructure, Housing, Urban Development & Public Works
    4    Amb. Raychelle A. Omamo                 Foreign Affairs
    5    Amb. Amina C. Mohamed, EGH, CAV Sports, Culture & Heritage
    6    Mr. Adan A. Mohamed, EGH               East African Community & Regional Development
    7    Mrs. Sicily K. Kariuki, EGH                  Water & Sanitation and Irrigation
    8    Hon. Eugene Wamalwa, EGH             Devolution
    9    Hon. Charles Keter, EGH                    Energy
    10   Mr. Joe Mucheru, EGH                       Information, Communication, Technology (ICT), Youth & Innovation
    11   Hon. Peter Munya, EGH                    Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries & Cooperatives
    12   Prof. Margaret Kobia,EGH                Public Service & Gender
    13   Hon. John K. Munyes,EGH               Mining and Petroleum
    14   Amb. (Dr.) Monica K. Juma, EGH     Defense
    15   Mr. Simon K. Chelugui, EGH            Labour & Social Services
    16   Mr. Keriako Tobiko, EGH                  Environment & Forestry
    17   Ms. Farida C. Karoney, EGH            Lands & Physical Planning
    18   Hon. (Amb.) Ukur K. Yatani, EGH    National Treasury and Planning
    19   Prof. George A.O. Magoha, EGH     Education
    20   Hon. Mutahi Kagwe –    Nominee     Health
    21   Ms. Betty Maina –Nominee              Industrialization, Trade & Enterprise Development

    Principal Secretaries
    1.   Dr. (Eng) Karanja Kibicho, CBS       Interior & Citizen Services
    2.   Ms. Zeinabu A. Hussein, CBS         Correctional Services
    3.   Dr. Julius Muia, CBS                        The National Treasury
    4.   Mr. Torome Saitoti, CBS                   Planning
    5.   Maj. Gen. (Rtd.) Gordon Kihalangwa,CBS   Public Works
    6.   Amb. Macharia Kamau, CBS           Foreign Affairs
    7.   Mr. Joe Okudo, CBS                        Sports
    8.   Dr. Chris Kiptoo, CBS                      Environment & Forestry
    9    Mr. Ali Ismail, CBS                           Cooperatives
    10   Ms. Susan Mochache                     Health
    11   Mr. Harry Kimutai                            Livestock
    12   Prof. Hamadi Iddi Boga                  Crop Development and Agricultural Research
    13   Prof. Fred K. Segor, CBS               Wildlife Services
    14   Mrs. Esther J. Koimett, CBS           Broadcasting & Telecommunications
    15   Mr. Mohamed Ibrahim, CBS           Defense
    16   Dr. Francis O. Owino, CBS             Industrialization
    17   Prof. Arch. Paul M. Mwangi, CBS   Infrastructure
    18   Mr. Charles Hinga Mwaura, CBS    Housing and Urban Development
    19   Mrs. Nancy Karigithu, CBS             Shipping & Maritime
    20   Mr. Charles T. Sunkuli                     Devolution
    21   Mr. Micah P. Powon, CBS               ASALS
    22   Mr. Jerome O. Ochieng                   ICT, Youth & Innovation
    23   Ms. Josephta Mukobe, CBS            Culture & Heritage
    24   Dr. Richard B. Kipsang, CBS           Early Learning & Basic Education
    25   Prof. Japheth M. Ntiba, CBS            Fisheries & Blue Economy
    26   Dr. Kevit Desai, CBS                        East Africa Community
    27   Mr. Alfred Cheruiyot, CBS                Post-Training & Skills Development
    28   Dr. Margaret W. Mwakima, CBS       Regional Development
    29   Mr. Nelson Marlwa, CBS                  Social Protection
    30   Eng. Peter K. Tum, CBS                  Labour
    31   Joseph W. Irungu, CBS                   Water & Sanitation and Irrigation
    32   Dr. Nicholas Muraguri, CBS             Lands
    33   Dr. (Eng) Joseph K. Njoroge, CBS  Energy
    34   Mr. Andrew K. Nganga, CBS           Petroleum
    35   Ms. Safina Kwekwe                         Tourism     
    36   Mr. Julius Korir                                 Youth Affairs
    37   Prof. Collette A. Suda, CBS            Gender Affairs
    38   Amb Johnson Weru –Nominee       Trade
    39   Dr Jwan Ouma –Nominee               Vocational & Technical Training
    40   Ms. Mary Kimonye –Nominee         Public Service
    41   Amb. Simon Nabukwesi –Nominee University Education and Research
    42   Mr. Solomon Kitungu –Nominee      Transport
    43   Peter K. Kaberia                              Mining and Petroleum
    44   Enosh Momanyi Onyango – Nominee    Physical Planning

    Chief Administrative Secretaries
    1    Hussein Dado                                  Interior and Coordination of National Government
    2    Joseph Boinnet                               Tourism & Wildlife
    3    Chris Obure                                    Transport, Infrastructure, Housing, Urban Development & Public Works
    4    Hassan Noor Hassan                     Sports, Culture & Heritage
    5    Ken Obura                                      East African Community & Regional Development
    6    Rashid A. Amana                           Health
    7    Patrick Ole Ntutu                            Labor & Social Protection
    8    Simon Kapchapin                          Energy
    10   Rachel Shebesh                           Public Service & Gender
    11   John Mosonik                               Petroleum & Mining
    12   Hon Ababu Namwamba               Foreign Affairs
    13   Andrew Tuimur                            Water & Sanitation and Irrigation
    14   Mohammed Elmi                         Environment & Forestry
    15   Gideon Mungaro                         Lands & Physical Planning
    16   Abdul Bahari                               Devolution & the ASALS
    17   Nelson Gaichuhie                       The National Treasury and Planning
    18   Lawrence Karanja                      Industrialization
    19   Peter Ondoyo                             Defense
    20   Maureen Magoma Mbaka          Information, Communication & Technology (ICT)
    21   Winnie Guchu                            State Law Office
    22   Wavinya Ndeti                           Transport
    23   Zachariah Kinuthia Mugure       Education
    24   Mumina Bonaya                        Education
    26   Linah Chebii                              Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries & Cooperatives
    27   Anne Martha Mukami Nyaga     Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries & Cooperatives
    28   Mercy Mukui Mwangangi          Health
    29   Nadia Ahmed Abdalla               ICT, Innovation & Youth

  • Facebook Comments