- Advertisement -

    Parliament announces committee to probe Busisiwe Mkhwebane


    - Ad Keep reading below -
    Political parties in parliament have submitted the names of members who will serve on a committee that will investigate Public Protector Busisiwe Mkhwebane’s fitness for office.

    In a statement issued just before midnight on Wednesday, 7 April 2021, parliament said the committee’s 26 members come from each of the 14 parties represented in the National Assembly. Parliamentary spokesperson Moloto Mothapo said 11 of the committee members will be voting members, while another 15 will be non-voting members.

    “National Assembly Speaker Thandi Modise has received the names of NA members of Parliament who will constitute the Section 194 Committee, which will enquire into whether or not there are grounds for the removal from office of Public Protector Advocate Busisiwe Mkhwebane,” Mothapo said.

    “Parties had until 31 March to submit names and these names have been published in the announcements, Tablings and Committee reports official publication of Parliament, dated 7 April 2021”

    Parliamentary spokesperson Moloto Mothapo

    Busisiwe Mkhwebane’s fate lies in the hands of these committee members

    - Ad Keep reading below -

    Some of the voting members include the ANC’s Mondli Gungubele, Doris Dlakude and Tina Joemat-Pettersson, the DA’s Dr Annelie Lotriet and Dr Leon Shreiber. While the EFF will be represented by leader Julius Malema.

    ALSO READ  Were Tuesday’s Powerball results ‘fixed’? Ithuba responds to bemusing draw
    ALSO READ  Iran's Zarif meets Taliban, calls for inclusive government

    Other voting members are the ANC’s Qubudile Dyantyi, Judy Hermans, Bekizwe Simon Nkosi and Philemon Mapulane (Alternate), Teiliswa Mgweba (Alternate). The IFP will be represented by Zandile Majozi and for the Freedom Front Plus will be Petrus Mulder.

    - Ad Keep reading below -

    The non-voting members are:

    (ANC) Nokuzola Tolashe and Xola Nqola, (DA) Baxolile Nodada, (EFF) Omphile Maotwe, (IFP) Themba Msimang, (Freedom Front Plus) Heloise Denner, (ACDP) Marie Elizabeth Sukers, (UDM) Bantu Holomisa, (ATM) Thandiswa Marawu, (GOOD) Shaun August, (NFP) Munzoor Shaik-Emam, (AIC) Lulama Ntshayisa, (COPE) Willie Madisha, (PAC) Mzwanele Nyhontso and (Al Jama-ah) Mogamad Hendricks.

    The DA in parliament submitted the motion to institute removal proceedings against her last year, citing a number of scathing court judgements against her, particularly relating to some of her investigations including the Estina Dairy probe.

    In March, parliament voted in support of establishing the committee, after adopting a report by a panel of experts, which found there were grounds for an investigation into the public protector’s fitness to hold office.

    ALSO READ  Hatari ya magonjwa ya mlipuko kwa watoto Msumbiji
    - Ad Keep reading below - Protection Status

    ALSO READ  Hatari ya magonjwa ya mlipuko kwa watoto Msumbiji

    - read any article below now-

    Latest news

    UCL: Stuart Pearce predicts teams to win Champions League semi-finals

    Manchester City manager, Pep Guardiola, has insisted that Borussia Dortmund star, Erling Haaland, was almost unstoppable during both sides’ Champions League quarter-final second-leg tie...

    Women Arrested With Sniper Gun, 4 Pistols and Sub-machine Gun [PHOTOS]

    Two women were on Wednesday, April 14 arrested in possession of highly advanced guns and weapons by detectives from the Directorate of Criminal Investigation. According...

    Security forces foil another jailbreak in Edo as inmates beat guards

    - Advertisement -

    You might also likeRELATED
    Recommended to you

    - Advertisement -